South Africa, Ivory Coast Team Up on First Co-Pro With Sci-Fi Drama ‘Ambre’ (EXCLUSIVE)

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Known Associates Entertainment, the production company behind the South African adaptation of the Colombian telenovela that inspired “Ugly Betty,” is partnering with Ivory Coast public broadcaster RTI on a sci-fi drama series that marks the first co-production between the two countries, Variety has learned.

“Ambre” will be shot in South Africa and in Ivory Coast with actors from both countries, with a script written in both English and French. South African public broadcaster SABC has pre-licensed the series, which is slated to air in 2022.

“In the vein of ‘American Gods’ and ‘Black Earth Rising,’ ‘Ambre’ is a futuristic action thriller about courage, hope and the heroism of youth in desperate times,” said producer Lebone Maema, who co-created the 6 x 60’ series with Ivorian writer Binta Dembele.

More To Explore